A Brief History of a Card Maker

Crafty Cardmakers have  a fab challenge this week which has made me come over all nostalgic! It’s called First and Latest and Greatest

In January 2010, DH bought me a Xyron PCS Machine asI had expressed an interest in starting to make cards. He did offer to buy me a cricut but I declined because I wasn’t sure if I was going to like card making – how I regret that now! hehe.

Although I cringe at it now, this is the first card I ever made

First Card - Birthday Boy

Awful isn’t it? But back then, I was so proud of my little balloon card hehe. I didn’t have any rubber stamps, had never heard of Magnolia Stamps, Promarkers, Papermania, K&Co, Basic Grey and the like. I had a small supply of scrap paper and some glue and that was it!

How rapidly time flies! I have been totally addicted to card making for the past 11 months and can’t see it ending anytime soon. In July, I started selling cards and toppers on eBay and sold my 150th at the end of November. I’ve learned so much from watching technique videos on youtube and buying card making magazines.

Hubby hasn’t yet grown tired of the “what do you think about this one?” question and even Meadow, my dog, has found a new favourite napping place at the side of my craft table. I’ve been guest designer for MyGrafico.com for 3 months and a designer for Sarah Paris for about the same length of time. In  January my next DT adventure begins on Paper-Crafting Journey. So all in all, an exciting year!

This is my latest project. I love the combination of Magnolia Rubber stamps and doilies at the moment. They suit each other so well.

Fairy Dust Tilda in Blue

I’ve used DP from K&Co, the Tilda stamp is Fairy Dust Tilda and the sentiment is by Bits of Ivory from CuddlyBuddly.com. The doily is from eBay and the ribbons and gems are from stash. Tilda has been coloured with Promarkers.

If I had to give any tips to a newbie, although i consider myself to be a newbie – it’d be to watch the youtube videos if you can’t get the magazines. Enter as many craft challenges as you can. Shop around for your supplies and most of all, practice, practice, practice (and have fun while you’re practising! Smile)

 

Fairy Dust Tilda in Blue 2

 

Lisa xx

8 responses to “A Brief History of a Card Maker

  1. Nice work, Lisa!
    If you need good verses…Father Time has them at
    FatherTimePublishing.com
    Keep up the good work!
    Blessings!
    Julia

  2. Gosh you’ve come one quick in 12 months – well done! There’s so much to learn, so many products, its mind boggling! Thanks also for the newbie tip too and thanks for your fantastic entry to Crafty Cardmakers, hope to see you again!

  3. Well done on joining us at Crafty Cardmakers this week. And as Vix says, wow you’ve come a long way. But remember the Crafter’s Rule – You can NEVER have too much stuff, lol. xx

  4. Wow, what an amazing difference a year makes. Your latest card is gorgeous, it’s astonishing how different they are. I do agree, more exposure to magazines and the tinterweb make a huge difference to your output.

    Thanks for being brave enough to take us up on our First & Last Challenge at Crafty Cardmakers. I wish you a fantastic Christmas and a very Happy New Year

  5. That first card is charming – simple but lovely. Of course, the Tilda one is gorgeous!

    Thanks for sharing your ‘First and Last’ with us at Crafty Cardmakers!

  6. Well done on your successes in the last year. Blogging and entering challenges is a great way to improve your skills. Glad you’ve been brave enough to show us your first card. You did well considering your lack of supplies when you made it. Thanks for joining us at Crafty Cardmakers.

    Kat x

  7. Congratulations on coming so far in such a short time. Your first card is actually quite sweet, but clearly your latest is WOW! I am another Tilda lover and agree with you about doilies and Tildas. Thanks for sharing your tips as we at Crafty Cardmakers are always delighted to see newbies perhaps your tips will inspire someone new to enter our challenges.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year and thanks for joining our First and Last Challenge at Crafty Cardmakers. Hope to see you back next year.

    Lin – Lil Miss Chatterbox

  8. Hi Lisa,

    Not sure if you know but you have won a prize over at Crafty Cardmakers.

    Just check out the winners tab at the top of the blog and get in youch with Vix to claim it.

    Well done on your win xxx

Leave a Reply

