Daily Archives: September 8, 2010

"Arm Chair " Card Instructions

Phew! My posts are like buses today! None for days and then loads come along at once… 🙂

These are the instructions on how to make the arm chair cards I mentioned earlier.

You will need

  • cardstock cut to an even number i.e. 8 x 8 will make a 4 x 4 card, 10 x 10 a 5 x 5 card and 12 x 12 will make a 6 x 6 card. I like small cards so I make mine 8 x 8.
  • Card stock cut to half an inch smaller than your finished card size (so for my 4 x 4 finished card size, I needed a 3.5 x 3.5 inch piece of card)
  • Paper cutter
  • Bone Folder
  • Scoring tool and board (or the groove in your paper cutter)
  • Small circle punch or a hole punch
  • Adhesive
  • Patterned paper and your chosen stamps, embellishments etc for decoration
  • ribbon or ribbon cord
  1. Score your card stock at the centre point through each side, so you end up with a cross shape in the middle which four sections of card
  2. In the top left section, cut away the top half of that section only (coloured yellow)
  3. Cut through the mid point line coloured pink on the diagram
  4. Trim away 1.5 inches from the bottom left section, shown coloured purple on the diagram.
  5. Fold at your score lines. The better, or firmer the folds, the better the card will stand when it’s opened.
  6. Apply double sided tape to two sides of the section numbered 3, fold over to the side numbered 2 and stick down.
This is how your card should look up to this point
7. Using a hole/circle punch, tie some ribbon to the other piece of cardstock you have prepared and tuck it into the pocket between sections 2 and 3 which is where your greeting will go
8. Fold section 1 over section 2 to close the card
9. Tuck section 4 underneath the card and your card is done.
Here is one of my finished cards. Any problems with the instructions, feel free to leave me a comment!

My Time To Craft – Jewelled

This Christmas is very exciting and a bit daunting for me as I will be making my own Christmas cards. This time last year I was totally ignorant of the card making world and it was only in January this year, after hubby bought me a Xyron PCS machine for my birthday that I started crafting on an all consuming, addictive basis! hehe


DH and I usually buy a special card for the in laws each year but this year, I’m going to make a special card for them instead. This is one of them. Because there’s so much to it, I’ve made a photo collage to show off all the different angles I am entering this card into the My Time to Craft Jewelled Challenge and also applying for the DT call!



I don’t know the actual name of these cards, but I call them armchair cards because of the arm which goes along the side of the card when it’s displayed.  I will put the instructions on how to make it in a separate post.

I have used
DCVW Christmas Papers
Digi Stamp from the Sarah Paris Holly Day stamp set from MyGrafico.com
Promarkers
Stickles
Red and diamanté gems
Red metallic cord



Gift Card Wallets Instructions

 On Saturday I said I would post the instructions to the gift card wallets I made and then promptly forgot to do so! Thanks for the reminder, Tazza!


Here are the instructions to make the basic holder – they’re very, very simple.


You will need: (all measurements are height x width)

  • One piece of cardstock 3.5  inches x 12 inches
  • One piece of cardstock or patterned paper  3.5 inches  x 3 1/4 inches
  • Bone Folder
  • Adhesive
  • Scoring tool and board – or if you haven’t got a scoring board, the groove in your paper cutter is a good alternative.
  • A small circle punch. I used a 1/2 inch punch but anything up to an inch is fine
  • Optional Border and Corner Punches
  • Any paper you want to decorate the holder with.
  • Velcro dot or small 3mm 3dimensional
Step One – The Holder

Score your 3.5″ x 12″ cardstock at 
3 1/2, 3 3/4, 8 3/4 and 9

Prefold all score lines

This is the basic shape of the holder.



Step Two – The Card Pocket

Punch a semi circle into the centre of once side of your cardstock/patterned paper so that it looks like this.









Step Three – Assembly

Adhere the three sides of your card pocket which haven’t been punched and stick it to the inside of the holder

Step Four – Decorate!

The fun part, decorate however you wish!.Once decorated, add either your 3dimensional or Velcro dot to the  inside of the wallet flaps so that it stays closed.


That’s it! One finished gift card wallet.


     

front of a finished wallet
inside view


If you make any of these, post a comment with your link so I can admire your creations! 🙂

MyGrafico GDT Project

Week two of my GDT stint over at the MyGrafico Challenge blog which you can visit here and the theme for this week is Beach Colours. We had a fab set of digi stamps by Cheri Wenger called a pocket full of shells and a lovely, summery set of digi papers by Lilly Bimble called Beachtime Papers.

Just what you need to brighten up these increasingly autumnal days!

I have made a gift card/holiday money wallet/card (probably should think of a better name for it… hehe)

The folded up card looks like this:

And the inside of the card or the unfolded card looks like this:

I think it’s cute, but then I guess I would since I made it! hehe

WoYwW

Another Wednesday and more workdesk hopping is calling. Which I will be doing with a mug of lemsip and some hobnobs as I’m full of cold again at the moment!


This week I just wanted to show you the freebie I received with my latest docrafts order. Isn’t it fab? I’ve not seen this set in the shops yet and I’ve been looking, believe me, cos it’s gorgeous! It’s the Papermania Elegance collection.


The free gift contains

  • an a5 paper pack (24 sheets)
  • 2 packs of die cut shapes
  • a pack of alphabet die cuts
  • a pack of self adhesive die cut stickers
  • a pack of decoupage stickers.
Dotted around the freebies are some of the cards I’ve already made.

Visit Julia’s desk here for more snooping fun! 

sniffy regards,